Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Sun Oct 13, 2019 10:23 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How do I determine which version of rbframework is needed?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:23 pm
Posts: 6
I have inherited an application which is built with REALbasic, however I am struggling to get it to run.
/Users/realsoftware/BuildSlave/QuickStableXCode/build/REALbasic/REALbasic Xcode/../../Common/Object Model/RuntimeExceptionFoundation.cpp:960: failed assertion `exclass'
Abort trap


I am guessing this is due to a version mismatch between the binary and the rb framework. Unfortunately the library version information isn't included. otool reports:
@executable_path/rbframework.dylib (compatibility version 0.0.0, current version 0.0.0)

So, is there either an easy way to download older versions of rbframework.dylib (I only have the latest), or some way to extract the REALbasic version used to create the binary (or a suggestion that I am way off track and the problem is something else! :) ).

For various reasons, asking the original developer these questions is not possible.

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 2:42 pm
Posts: 2985
Location: Germany
Somehow you got the application. The framework is always included, so check your sources.

Greetings
Christian

_________________
See you in Orlando, Florida for Real World 2013
More details and registration here:
http://www.realsoftware.com/community/realworld.php


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:23 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks for your reply, but the framework was not included, if it was, I wouldn't be posting here! :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:21 pm
Posts: 12388
Location: Portland, OR USA
If the framework wasn't included, you don't have an app. Sorry, but you're sol.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:46 am
Posts: 4931
Location: San Diego, CA
Unlike Windows applications... OSX Apps have the framework included internally.... makes the app bigger, but much more portable, and there is no need to worry about DLL versions etc.

So... Either it is not an RB application, or somebody corrupted it.

_________________
Dave Sisemore
iMac I7[2012], OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.3 RB2012r2.1
Note : I am not interested in any solutions that involve custom Plug-ins of any kind


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:23 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks for the replies.

I do not have access to the app bundle (although I can fairly trivially construct one for it), only the binary itself (which is definitely linked against the rbframework, and hence a RB application).

Am I correct in assuming that this is likely a version mismatch?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 5:35 am
Posts: 2412
Location: Netherlands
Ive seen the same a couple of versions before in the Linux Build mode.
An external library was added to my app. ( i think it was version RS2009 r3 or something)

Its not there anymore in any platform, so it should be an oldscool thing but i dont know if im exactly right as
ive got this image of the "rbframework.dylib" (not seen) as ive seen as "rbframework.so" (ive seen this one).

_________________
SWORT™
- Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux Mint 11 and Mac OSX Lion
- REAL Studio Enterprise(latest) and WEB Edition(latest)
- Plugins (MBS Complete, ToringoLib, Einhugur, VanHoek + Some open source plugins)
For Dutch User Groups ask me to enter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:23 pm
Posts: 6
.dylib is a macosx thing, its a shared library, same as a .so in linux, so it sounds like the same thing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 5:35 am
Posts: 2412
Location: Netherlands
nick_td wrote:
.dylib is a macosx thing, its a shared library, same as a .so in linux, so it sounds like the same thing.


yes i know that, but i just made a node of that ive seen it in some version (.so in my linux). Thats atleast why i thought....

_________________
SWORT™
- Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux Mint 11 and Mac OSX Lion
- REAL Studio Enterprise(latest) and WEB Edition(latest)
- Plugins (MBS Complete, ToringoLib, Einhugur, VanHoek + Some open source plugins)
For Dutch User Groups ask me to enter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:23 pm
Posts: 6
Okay :) Thanks for the confirmation. I guess I'll try and find the appropriate .dylib version.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:21 pm
Posts: 12388
Location: Portland, OR USA
There could conceivably be a whole lot of other stuff you're missing if you don't have the bundle. If you didn't get the complete bundle, you're not likely to get very far. It's not just a matter of finding a compatible dylib.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 5:35 am
Posts: 2412
Location: Netherlands
MonkeybreadSoftware wrote:
Somehow you got the application. The framework is always included, so check your sources.

Greetings
Christian


As Christian says here, "The framework is always included, so check your sources."

I suppose he is right, and its included.

_________________
SWORT™
- Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux Mint 11 and Mac OSX Lion
- REAL Studio Enterprise(latest) and WEB Edition(latest)
- Plugins (MBS Complete, ToringoLib, Einhugur, VanHoek + Some open source plugins)
For Dutch User Groups ask me to enter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 1:07 pm
Posts: 1464
Location: NotEvenOnTheMap, CT
Yes, applications built with RB are bundles and the stuff we pack into the bundles is very important. If you do not have a complete bundle, you're out of luck. There is nothing you can do except get a new build. Your version is essentially corrupted.

_________________
Thom McGrath - @tekcor
Web Framework Architect, Real Software, Inc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:23 pm
Posts: 6
Okay, thanks for all the input, I'll try and get the full bundle.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group