Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:45 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Send info to Command Prompt / Terminal via Button Click?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 7:41 pm
Posts: 37
I have searched for this but haven't found exactly what I'm trying to do.

I want my app to send arguments to the Command Prompt (Windows) and to Terminal on Linux and OS X when the user clicks on a Button. How would I accomplish this?

Thanks,
timehacker11.

_________________
Xojo Countdown:
http://timehacker11.com/apps/countdowns/xojo/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Send info to Command Prompt / Terminal via Button Click?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:21 pm
Posts: 12388
Location: Portland, OR USA
I believe that on Linux and OSX you can use system.debuglog. Windows, on the other hand, doesn't have the same concept of a single "command prompt" that you can access. cmd.exe is just another windows application. You can have several running at the same time.

What are you trying to accomplish? That would help steer the responses you will get.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Send info to Command Prompt / Terminal via Button Click?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 7:41 pm
Posts: 37
timhare wrote:
I believe that on Linux and OSX you can use system.debuglog. Windows, on the other hand, doesn't have the same concept of a single "command prompt" that you can access. cmd.exe is just another windows application. You can have several running at the same time.

What are you trying to accomplish? That would help steer the responses you will get.


Basically, once the user has entered data / modified values, I want the app to send those values to the Command Line and execute them.. This app is a GUI for a Command Line App, if that helps.

_________________
Xojo Countdown:
http://timehacker11.com/apps/countdowns/xojo/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Send info to Command Prompt / Terminal via Button Click?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2013 9:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:21 pm
Posts: 12388
Location: Portland, OR USA
Then I think you want the Shell class. Make sure you set up the environment, if necessary. Shelled subprocesses do not run the user's login scripts that Command Prompt and Terminal do.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group