Real Software Forums
http://forums.realsoftware.com/

How do you use RealBasic
http://forums.realsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43061
Page 2 of 2

Author:  NaNdummy [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How do you use RealBasic

Tom Iwaniec wrote:
Thank you very much! We've been using the MBS plugins for years and couldn't create the apps without them. We also use their DynaPDF plugin for creating PDFs from Studiometry.

Most of the custom controls and looks were creating using canvases. Even the fancy custom-looking listboxes (with variable row heights) are just a subclass of the built in canvas, like the one pictured on the right here:
[..]

You can really do a lot with the built-in controls in RealBasic, and anything we've ever needed that wasn't built in was in the Monkeybread Software Plugins.

You can sell the controls, I would buy them!

Author:  alvinru [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How do you use RealBasic

What about the source list, action bar and scope bar controls? Are they custom controls? Do you use any controls by Figa software?

How difficult was it to implement the custom listboxes using canvases?

Author:  alvinru [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How do you use RealBasic

NaNdummy wrote:
You can sell the controls, I would buy them!


Me too! :)

Author:  Tom Iwaniec [ Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do you use RealBasic

The source boxes on the left are just listboxes with customized cell/background painting. The scope bar is a canvas control.

The custom listbox was probably the most difficult interface class to create, especially considering we needed it to handle huge lists at the same speed as the built-in listbox.

We don't have any plans right now to sell any of the classes but we might release them as open source/free in the future sometime.

Author:  alvinru [ Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:12 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How do you use RealBasic

Thanks for the explanation, Tom!

Author:  NaNdummy [ Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:10 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How do you use RealBasic

Tom Iwaniec wrote:
The source boxes on the left are just listboxes with customized cell/background painting. The scope bar is a canvas control.

The custom listbox was probably the most difficult interface class to create, especially considering we needed it to handle huge lists at the same speed as the built-in listbox.

We don't have any plans right now to sell any of the classes but we might release them as open source/free in the future sometime.

That would be nice!!!!

Author:  Axel-Erfurt [ Sun Mar 31, 2013 12:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How do you use RealBasic

charonn0 wrote:
Strictly a hobbyist here, though an enthusiastic one. :D


I am also a enthusiastic hobbyist
this is my last project

a "button maker"
I and other people use it to make buttons for Reaper (DAW) themes

Image

ButtonMaker OSX

ButtonMaker WIN

Author:  msssltd [ Sun Mar 31, 2013 6:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How do you use RealBasic

I've been using RB for near enough 10 years I think. I initially bought into RS when VB6 went out of support.

Primarily I work as a freelance network analyst. RS fits into my toolkit somewhere between scripting languages (bat, bash, wsh, vba, php, TSQL etc) and lower level compiled languages, such as CPP and Delphi.

Most of the time I use RS to produce one off applications, to aid some specific diagnostic. Most years I have taken on and delivered one bespoke app for release. There is not much to see in my released apps, they are designed to solve back end problems. RS socket controls keep me coming back, as they allow me to turn out headless server apps pretty damn quickly.

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/