Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Sat Jul 04, 2020 4:51 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: AMD64 Support
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:30 am
Posts: 6
I've been a RB developer for about 5 years now using both Mac and Windows. Presently I am interested in developing on Gentoo/AMD64. The current Linux version posted on RealSoftware doesn't seem to support AMD64.

It would be a beautiful thing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Posts: 1712
Location: U.S.A.
We have RB2005r4 for Linux running on SuSE Linux 10.0 for AMD64. It will not build 64 bit applications, of course, but it runs just fine.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 6:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
sideorder i was just wondering if you got it working already ( i'm still busy grabbing so's from slackware but i'm missing some i think)

so if you have it working please help me out :cry: :cry: :cry:


btw : if i find al so's ill create a nice tarbal if someone doesn't want to(or can) look/find the so's him/her self

oh forgot to tell i'm running gentoo 64 bit too


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: No go
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 8:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:30 am
Posts: 6
I haven't got it to run yet. If I try launching it from the Gnome file browser it does nothing. Launching from the terminal gives me error while loading shared libraries: libcups.so.2: cannot open shared object file; No such file or directory

Doing a find shows that library sitting at /usr/lib64/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 9:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
yes but it's a 64 bit library and realbasic can't use those

i already made the package with all library's (just need to find out where to place them without breaking my system)

if you wan't to give it a try here's the package also it could be usefull (altough i'm not sure it's legal) to run it with strace from console like
strace REALBasic2005 2>&1 |grep No |grep open

this gives you all the locations where it looks for the library's

i'll post back if i got it working


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
ok back again and i should have all the so's in one nice package now *

realbasic_libs.tar.bz2

run this as root
tar -xvjf realbasic_libs.tar.bz2 -C /
sh /usr/bin/install_lib.sh


and it should work

* Note this has only been tested on a gentoo 64 bit system


have fun people it should be working now

EDIT: i just put a script in the tarbal for a little easier installation


Last edited by psycho on Thu Nov 17, 2005 2:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Closer
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 11:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:30 am
Posts: 6
That gets me closer, thnx psycho.

I launched, got the prompt to enter key, which I did, then got this error;

../Common/basicstr.cpp: 3340
Failure Condition: theStr.Encoding() == kEncodingUTF8 or theStr.Encoding() == kEncodingUTF16 or theStr.Encoding() == kEncodingASCII
(null)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 11:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
hmm no problems here except that i should test if everything worked(50 % of my soft stoped) but realbasic runs like a charm hehe :)

maybe it has some library in the memory (i did restart my comp first)

but see above it did break my system (libcrypto.so.0 now has serious problems no wget no xmms no amsn no vmware)

but i'm looking to fix it now


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 11:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
hmm too easy after exctacting the tarbal you should also do (as root again)
emerge openssl


works only on gentoo systems
(for the error with libcrypto)

what happens if you ask for a demo key??? <- thats what i did


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 11:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:30 am
Posts: 6
I got the key using web browser. I tried the RB "Get key" first but it failed. I'm not too surprised though, I'm behind a firewall and everything out to the internet is via proxy.

No other system probs though, everything I usually use is running fine, Firefox, Thunderbird, Bluefish, etc.

I'm poking around to se what might cause that error. It happens when the splash screen says Loading Framework.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 1:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:30 am
Posts: 6
Another clue, running the app from the console gives

Gdk-WARNING **: Error converting from UTF-8 to STRING: Con version from character set 'UTF-8' to 'ISO-8859-1' is not supported


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 2:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
hmm is this during startup if so i think you need to review your kernel moduls/options

otherwise i really can't help there (i have no experience or knowledge about internationalization , i should have i know :oops: :oops: )


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 3:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:30 am
Posts: 6
Launching RB is the first time I've seen that error. I've played with localedef, set locale.LANG to en_US.UTF8 and en_US. No dif. Maybe be some sort of charset conversion library that RB isn't happy with? I haven't found it yet though. I've installed a bunch of apps on here, web browsers, email clients, text editors, all stuff that need to handle different encodings. No problems. Bluefish shows over 20 character sets available. That leads me to think that there's something in RB that isn't handling the stuation as well as it should.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 3:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
i only have a problem with the language reference but besides that it runs good

can you try executing

zcat /proc/config.gz |grep NLS


i think your kernel is missing the a codepage.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group