Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:01 am
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Keyboard problem in Linux
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 8:50 pm
Posts: 780
I'm trying to move the EditCell up/down through rows within a listbox using the up/down keys. The code below ( in CellKeyDown Event of the listbox ) works great in Windows but crashes in Linux if the user holds an up/down key too long or repeatedly presses one of the keys too soon. I suspect it has something to do with the keyboard buffer but, as I said, it works perfectly in Windows.

// Use arrow keys to scroll the editcell up/down
// through rows in listbox.

Select Case asc(key)

Case 30 ' move to previous row (up key)
if row>0 then
row=row-1
me.EditCell(row,column)
else
Return true
end

Case 31 ' move to next row (down key)
if row<me.ListCount-1 then
row=row+1
me.EditCell(row,column)
else
Return true
end
end


Anyone know if this is a bug in RB or just a slow OS handling of the keyboard buffer?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Keyboard problem in Linux
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 11:37 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Tumwater, Wa
sorry man, i can't reproduce the problem.
I'm developing on Linux debian 2.6.32-5-686 w/ Gnome

are you able to catch the error?

_________________
• program, n.: A magic spell cast over a computer allowing it to turn one's input into error messages.
tr.v. To engage in a pastime similar to banging one's head against a wall, but with fewer opportunities for reward


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Keyboard problem in Linux
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 8:50 pm
Posts: 780
Thanks for the reply! I'm on Debian 3.4.2 - Ubuntu 12.04-32 bit, Kernel Linux 3.2.0.37. Can't catch the error because the IDE or app simply disappears when the error occurs.

I may send it in as a possible bug just to see if RS can duplicate the problem.

Thanks again


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group