Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Tue Jun 02, 2020 9:04 am
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: RB and Fedora Core 2 Linux
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:23 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Exton, PA USA
1. Does RB Linux version run on/work with Fedora Core 2 Linux?
2. Do exe generated by a Windows RB version work on Fedora Core 2?

If not, is there plans to make it work?

_________________
Regards,
N3UD Email PaulT at PaulT dot Org


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 8:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:39 am
Posts: 9341
Location: St Augusta, MN
Moved to Linux for accuracy.

REALbasic is officially supported on Novel Linux Desktop and Redhat Desktop, however, so long as you meet the proper requirements, there's no reason it shouldn't run on any Linux distro.

You need: x86 Linux, GTK+ 2.0 (or higher), glibc-2.3 (or higher), CUPS, and I believe libstdc++.5 is also hard linked against.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:52 am
Posts: 202
I've done both and didn't run into any major problems.

*EDIT* whoops, I forgot I'm actually running FC3. :oops:

_________________
-2007r1 Standard XP SP2-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 9:30 pm
Posts: 1712
Location: U.S.A.
Fedora is the core for Rad Hat, so you should not run into any problems.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RB and Fedora Core 2 Linux
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 9:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:00 am
Posts: 1003
Location: Raleigh, NC
n3ud wrote:
1. Does RB Linux version run on/work with Fedora Core 2 Linux?
2. Do exe generated by a Windows RB version work on Fedora Core 2?

If not, is there plans to make it work?


I've had no problems using FC3 with RB 5.5, and I've had no problems using FC4 with RB 2005.

_________________
Christian
Pariahware, Inc.

Mac, Windows, Linux, & iOS Consulting http://pariahware.com/consulting.html
Elastic Window for Real Studio http://pariahware.com/elasticwindow.html
Storemarks - Visual Bookmarks for Life http://storemarksapp.com/
Bible Trivia Game Show for iOS http://biblicious.com/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
Aaron Ballman wrote:

You need: x86 Linux, GTK+ 2.0 (or higher), glibc-2.3 (or higher), CUPS, and I believe libstdc++.5 is also hard linked against.



I'm afraid your requirements are not accurate (tried running it on gentoo ( X86_64 ) and it keeps whining about libcups.so.2
(after makeing symlinks over my whole system it still doesnt work tough)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:39 am
Posts: 9341
Location: St Augusta, MN
CUPS is the same as libcups.so. However, you're right, I did miss something -- you need to have libgnomeprint and libgnomeprintui installed. I am pretty sure the full list on the website is accurate.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
well i'm just playing with it sinds yesterday i'm pretty impressed altough vb.net lets me do a little bit more myself (like using an array as property)

end i didn't found the full so i thought i search on the forums first


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:39 am
Posts: 9341
Location: St Augusta, MN
You can use an array as a property in RB as well.

Foobar() as Integer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 11:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
hmm i gues i wasn't paying attention (i tried to make a constant like
friend str() as string <- in vb)

but he doesn't like that (and as far as i know there isn't any language that allows this)

thanks anyway :)

online sys. requirements are acurate

website wrote:
Any x86-based Linux distribution with GTK+ 2.0 (or higher), glibc-2.3 (or higher) and CUPS (Common UNIX Printing System) , which includes



but libgnomeprint libgnomeprintui are not there (and it still doesnt work)

oh btw i'll stop edditing my now :)


Last edited by psycho on Thu Nov 03, 2005 11:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 11:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:39 am
Posts: 9341
Location: St Augusta, MN
psycho wrote:
hmm i gues i wasn't paying attention (i tried to make a constant like
friend str() as string <- in vb)

but he doesn't like that (and as far as i know there isn't any language that allows this)


Ah yes, RB doesn't let you make constant arrays, nor does it have the friend keyword.

Quote:
online sys. requirements are acurate

website wrote:
Any x86-based Linux distribution with GTK+ 2.0 (or higher), glibc-2.3 (or higher) and CUPS (Common UNIX Printing System) , which includes
[/b]


Which looks awfully close to:

Aaron Ballman wrote:
You need: x86 Linux, GTK+ 2.0 (or higher), glibc-2.3 (or higher), CUPS, and I believe libstdc++.5 is also hard linked against.


The difference being that the website isn't listing libstdc++ properly, nor the libgnomeprint stuff. :-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 11:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
but it still doesnt work (still the libcups.so.2)

it is there (and linked from a lot of other places)

any more hidden requirements???


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
this is what it returns on gentoo

root lib32 # realbasic
realbasic: error while loading shared libraries: libcups.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
root lib32 # find / -name libcups.so.2
/usr/lib64/libcups.so.2
/usr/local/share/realbasic/libcups.so.2
/lib64/libcups.so.2
/lib32/libcups.so.2
root lib32 #


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 11:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:39 am
Posts: 9341
Location: St Augusta, MN
in /usr/lib itself (not lib32 or lib64), what does libcups.so point to? We require the 32-bit version of the library, and I suspect it may be pointing to the 64-bit version.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 12:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 64
Location: The Netherlands
/usr/lib is a sym link to /usr/lib64

but even if it is as 64bit library it should be able to open it or at least find it.

anyways i'm recompiling cups again if it doesnt work then i'll try creating a 32bit version of it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group