Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:14 am
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can a popupmenu be the first control to receive focus?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 5:11 pm
Posts: 576
Location: Guatemala, Central America
This is the first time that I've had the need to have a popupmenu be the first control on a window since I started using RS and it seems that running on Mac the popupmenu can't receive focus as the first control in the window, it works OK under windows XP, 7 & 8 though.

Is this normal behavior or am I doing something wrong?

_________________
Future RS guru.
Ride the world!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can a popupmenu be the first control to receive focus?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:02 am
Posts: 1236
Location: Jönköping, Sweden
The default on Mac OS X is that you can only set focus (or Tab to) Textfields.
If you want the user to be able to set focus on your PopupMenu they have to go into their System settings > Keyboard > Keyboard Shortcuts and enable "Full Keyboard Access" to All Controls.

Mac OS X doesn't behave like Windows do ;)

_________________
Image http://www.linkedin.com/in/albinkiland
Dev. iMac 27" + 2x22" LG (2.8GHz Intel Core i7, 12GB RAM, 120GB SSD) OS X 10.8
Xojo Pro 2013r1


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can a popupmenu be the first control to receive focus?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 5:11 pm
Posts: 576
Location: Guatemala, Central America
I guess I need to understand OS X a bit better.

Thanks for the info!

_________________
Future RS guru.
Ride the world!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Can a popupmenu be the first control to receive focus?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:02 am
Posts: 1236
Location: Jönköping, Sweden
HMARROQUINC wrote:
I guess I need to understand OS X a bit better.

Thanks for the info!

I don't know if this is true to ALL os x versions but at least from 10.5 what I can find out :)

_________________
Image http://www.linkedin.com/in/albinkiland
Dev. iMac 27" + 2x22" LG (2.8GHz Intel Core i7, 12GB RAM, 120GB SSD) OS X 10.8
Xojo Pro 2013r1


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group