Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:31 am
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: What Mac specs does an RB app run on?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:29 am
Posts: 387
I noticed the compiled app says Intel based in folder for thr build...does that mean it does not run on powerPC macs?

i.e. do RB apps qualify for the universal logo or not?

Does anyone have a spec they use when specifying which Macs their app runs on...sw and hw requirements?

_________________
Currently using:
Windows XP Pro SP3
Real Studio 2011 Release 4.3 Enterprise
and
Mac OS 10.7.4
Real Studio 2011 Release 4.3 Enterprise
(finally also compiled on Mac)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What Mac specs does an RB app run on?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 2:42 pm
Posts: 2985
Location: Germany
please look here:

http://docs.realsoftware.com/index.php/ ... eal_Studio

Greetings
Christian

_________________
See you in Orlando, Florida for Real World 2013
More details and registration here:
http://www.realsoftware.com/community/realworld.php


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What Mac specs does an RB app run on?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:29 am
Posts: 387
On that page it shows:

Operating System Information

Building for PowerPC: 2011r3
IDE works on PowerPC: 2010r3.2
Windows 2000: 2010r3.2
Mac OS X 10.3: 2009r4
Mac OS X 10.4: 2011r4.3
Mac OS 9: 2007r3
Windows 98: 2007r3
Single-File Executables for Windows: 2008r1

I am not sure how to interpret this though.... does it mean that PowerPC requires 2011r3 to build? Or does it mean as of 2011r3 you can't build for PowerPC????

On my current version there is no option to build for PowerPC.

-Tim


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What Mac specs does an RB app run on?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 3:09 pm
Posts: 650
Location: Tennessee, USA
Those are the last version that will perform what is stated to the left of them. So, if you have a version newer than 2011r3, then it will not build for PowerPC.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What Mac specs does an RB app run on?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:29 am
Posts: 387
I do indeed have 2011 r3 and I don't see a build setting for PowerPC.
It just builds Intel mac.

Or in 2011 r3 was first version they discontinued the PowerPC option???

What percentage of users use a PowerPC based mac? i.e. is it significant enough that we want to offer both

ANd if ultimately we want to be in the app store... do we then have to submit one app as Intel and another one as a PowerPC version?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What Mac specs does an RB app run on?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 2:42 pm
Posts: 2985
Location: Germany
Well, in my copy of RS 2011r3, I have build options for PPC and Universal.


Mac PPC is just a few percent currently. Still my mom uses an old Mac Mini and I'm happy to find apps for that one :-)
For the App Store, the app must be intel only.

_________________
See you in Orlando, Florida for Real World 2013
More details and registration here:
http://www.realsoftware.com/community/realworld.php


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What Mac specs does an RB app run on?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:59 pm
Posts: 56
Location: Silicon Valley
And PPC builds will not run on Lion nor Mountain Lion, since Rosetta is no longer supported.

_________________
mallen
iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7; 16 GB; OS X 10.8.1; RS 2012r1
MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; 4 GB; OS X 10.8.1; RS 2012r1

"Sometimes you're the windshield, Sometimes you're the bug." — Mark Knopfler, The Bug, 1991


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What Mac specs does an RB app run on?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 6:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:29 am
Posts: 387
MonkeybreadSoftware wrote:
Well, in my copy of RS 2011r3, I have build options for PPC and Universal.


Where are they? I am running 20011 r4.3 and under Project - Build Settings... it offers Mac OS X ... Carbon or Cocoa and that's all.

Also if we upgrade to 2012 r2 that means we can no longer build for Carbon at all?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What Mac specs does an RB app run on?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 2:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:02 am
Posts: 1236
Location: Jönköping, Sweden
On 2011r3 in Build Settings you can select Carbon, Cocoa. Universal Binary, Intel or PowerPC.
So I guess you'll need 2011r3.

_________________
Image http://www.linkedin.com/in/albinkiland
Dev. iMac 27" + 2x22" LG (2.8GHz Intel Core i7, 12GB RAM, 120GB SSD) OS X 10.8
Xojo Pro 2013r1


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What Mac specs does an RB app run on?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:31 pm
Posts: 1698
Location: Monterey, CA
Some user breakdowns for a little site I run which got ~3 million hits last month:
(Note these are % out of Mac users. Mac users are over half the users to the site.)

OS X 10.8 ~ 50%
OS X 10.7 ~ 35%
OS X 10.6 ~ 13%
OS X 10.5 ~ 2%

PowerPC users ~ 1.25%
Intel Mac users ~ 98.75%

So unless you specifically need PPC support for some lucrative customer/contract running legacy hardware, it's not worth your time. The latest OS and one version behind are at 85% of the instal base.

This is just one sample from one site over the month of August 2012, but I hope it gives you some realistic idea of what the market is like.

_________________
ImagePlay Effects Library (40+ image effects in one open source module. No plugins, no dependencies, no restrictions.)
http://imageplay.sourceforge.net/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What Mac specs does an RB app run on?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:45 pm
Posts: 1002
Location: Sol:Planet Earth:North America:California
torrid wrote:

Where are they? I am running 20011 r4.3 and under Project - Build Settings... it offers Mac OS X ... Carbon or Cocoa and that's all.

Also if we upgrade to 2012 r2 that means we can no longer build for Carbon at all?


According to the specs you posted it appears that 2011r3 is the last version that supports building for PPC so that would mean that 2011 r4.3 will not have an option for PPC.

Just keep a copy of 2011r3 around and you can continue to use it to build PPC. However, I would keep a copy of the project saved in 2011r3 around. This, of course, creates issues with features and what not that you may be using in 2012 that do not exist in 2011r3...

-Paul

_________________
This message made with 100% recycled pixels.
MacBook CD2.0/2GB/OSX 10.6.8 / REAL Studio 2010R1 Pro


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group