Real Software Forums
http://forums.realsoftware.com/

How do I determine which version of rbframework is needed?
http://forums.realsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=37908
Page 1 of 1

Author:  nick_td [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:44 pm ]
Post subject:  How do I determine which version of rbframework is needed?

I have inherited an application which is built with REALbasic, however I am struggling to get it to run.
/Users/realsoftware/BuildSlave/QuickStableXCode/build/REALbasic/REALbasic Xcode/../../Common/Object Model/RuntimeExceptionFoundation.cpp:960: failed assertion `exclass'
Abort trap


I am guessing this is due to a version mismatch between the binary and the rb framework. Unfortunately the library version information isn't included. otool reports:
@executable_path/rbframework.dylib (compatibility version 0.0.0, current version 0.0.0)

So, is there either an easy way to download older versions of rbframework.dylib (I only have the latest), or some way to extract the REALbasic version used to create the binary (or a suggestion that I am way off track and the problem is something else! :) ).

For various reasons, asking the original developer these questions is not possible.

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks!

Author:  MonkeybreadSoftware [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

Somehow you got the application. The framework is always included, so check your sources.

Greetings
Christian

Author:  nick_td [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

Thanks for your reply, but the framework was not included, if it was, I wouldn't be posting here! :)

Author:  timhare [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

If the framework wasn't included, you don't have an app. Sorry, but you're sol.

Author:  DaveS [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

Unlike Windows applications... OSX Apps have the framework included internally.... makes the app bigger, but much more portable, and there is no need to worry about DLL versions etc.

So... Either it is not an RB application, or somebody corrupted it.

Author:  nick_td [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

Thanks for the replies.

I do not have access to the app bundle (although I can fairly trivially construct one for it), only the binary itself (which is definitely linked against the rbframework, and hence a RB application).

Am I correct in assuming that this is likely a version mismatch?

Author:  swort [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

Ive seen the same a couple of versions before in the Linux Build mode.
An external library was added to my app. ( i think it was version RS2009 r3 or something)

Its not there anymore in any platform, so it should be an oldscool thing but i dont know if im exactly right as
ive got this image of the "rbframework.dylib" (not seen) as ive seen as "rbframework.so" (ive seen this one).

Author:  nick_td [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

.dylib is a macosx thing, its a shared library, same as a .so in linux, so it sounds like the same thing.

Author:  swort [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

nick_td wrote:
.dylib is a macosx thing, its a shared library, same as a .so in linux, so it sounds like the same thing.


yes i know that, but i just made a node of that ive seen it in some version (.so in my linux). Thats atleast why i thought....

Author:  nick_td [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

Okay :) Thanks for the confirmation. I guess I'll try and find the appropriate .dylib version.

Author:  timhare [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

There could conceivably be a whole lot of other stuff you're missing if you don't have the bundle. If you didn't get the complete bundle, you're not likely to get very far. It's not just a matter of finding a compatible dylib.

Author:  swort [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

MonkeybreadSoftware wrote:
Somehow you got the application. The framework is always included, so check your sources.

Greetings
Christian


As Christian says here, "The framework is always included, so check your sources."

I suppose he is right, and its included.

Author:  Thom McGrath [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

Yes, applications built with RB are bundles and the stuff we pack into the bundles is very important. If you do not have a complete bundle, you're out of luck. There is nothing you can do except get a new build. Your version is essentially corrupted.

Author:  nick_td [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I determine which version of rbframework is neede

Okay, thanks for all the input, I'll try and get the full bundle.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/