Real Software Forums
http://forums.realsoftware.com/

EXE missing the 48x48 32bit icon
http://forums.realsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=47044
Page 1 of 1

Author:  giorgio [ Sat Feb 23, 2013 4:30 am ]
Post subject:  EXE missing the 48x48 32bit icon

I'm using 2012r2.1 under OS-X and Win. In several projects I've set the icons for all sizes and when I compile the app for Window I have all the icons (7 totally at different sizes) embedded into the EXE but the 48x48x32. This size contains the (I guess is the default) RB icon (the one with the 3 green cubes).
The result of this behavior is that depending on the user's viewing of the file in Explorer, sometimes the app has the correct icon, sometimes (middle size icons' view for example) it has the RB one.
It's really annoying as, after compiling, I have all the time to access the EXE resources and use a third party utility (Resource tuner) to delete the RB icon in position #5 and make icon appearance consistent at all settings.
This problems appears compiling under OS-X, WinXP and Win7 (target is always Windows).
Anybody has experienced it and knows if there is a workaround or a fix for this?

One more issue, I've also noticed that the IDE's App "Long version" entry in reality is visualized in the Windows properties as "Copyright". It's not a big issue but...

Thanks for any lead. Giorgio

Author:  swort [ Sat Feb 23, 2013 6:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: EXE missing the 48x48 32bit icon

giorgio wrote:
I'm using 2012r2.1 under OS-X and Win. In several projects I've set the icons for all sizes and when I compile the app for Window I have all the icons (7 totally at different sizes) embedded into the EXE but the 48x48x32. This size contains the (I guess is the default) RB icon (the one with the 3 green cubes).
The result of this behavior is that depending on the user's viewing of the file in Explorer, sometimes the app has the correct icon, sometimes (middle size icons' view for example) it has the RB one.
It's really annoying as, after compiling, I have all the time to access the EXE resources and use a third party utility (Resource tuner) to delete the RB icon in position #5 and make icon appearance consistent at all settings.
This problems appears compiling under OS-X, WinXP and Win7 (target is always Windows).
Anybody has experienced it and knows if there is a workaround or a fix for this?

One more issue, I've also noticed that the IDE's App "Long version" entry in reality is visualized in the Windows properties as "Copyright". It's not a big issue but...

Thanks for any lead. Giorgio


The first problem (icons) i've never had.
You might try to change the icon again by dragging the icon into the icon editor. (Project tab -> App class -> Icon)

the second, i have reported on feedback a while ago. Perhaps you should try to find the case and add your notice to it.
I've noticed this long version problem about a year ago.

Author:  PeDre [ Sat Feb 23, 2013 6:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: EXE missing the 48x48 32bit icon

same problem here.
I save as ".rbvcp", edit the project.rbvcp file with texteditor:

...
AppIcon=project.rbres;&h0
...

to

...
AppIcon=
...

open in IDE and add new icons.

Peter

Author:  swort [ Sat Feb 23, 2013 6:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: EXE missing the 48x48 32bit icon

PeDre wrote:
same problem here.
I save as ".rbvcp", edit the project.rbvcp file with texteditor:

...
AppIcon=project.rbres;&h0
...

to

...
AppIcon=
...

open in IDE and add new icons.

Peter



Search in feedback if there is a case, if there is none then file a new bug report.
VCP is know to be buggy.

Author:  PeDre [ Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: EXE missing the 48x48 32bit icon

VCP was not the problem but the solution.

Feedback report: 23591
Can't update or remove Huge icon size 48x48
--
Sonntag, 17. Februar 2013 @ 19:32
»» Status changed from 'Needs Review' to 'Reviewed'.

Peter

Author:  giorgio [ Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:58 am ]
Post subject:  Re: EXE missing the 48x48 32bit icon

Thanks everybody.

I got the icon issue fixed saving the project in XML format and manually deleting all the icon entries. After then I was able to re-import an icon and all sizes have been created correctly.
:D

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/