Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Thu Sep 19, 2019 7:25 am
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Do i need latest RB version ???
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 9:07 pm
Posts: 34
Hi, I still use RB 2007 r3 and it works flawlessly. I never upgraded again because I don't like the new software having to create these additional files. I'm about to release some language learning software for Windows only, maybe Mac at a later date. Do i need to upgrade (is it really necessary??) This software will not access the internet at all. Only way i'd be interested in upgrading really is if RB had a built in installer, which i know it does not.. any info appreciated, thanks !!!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Do i need latest RB version ???
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 2:42 pm
Posts: 2985
Location: Germany
If you don't need it, you don't need it.

Someday, you may need it for some new Windows, some new requirement by your users or some bug fix.

Greetings
Christian

_________________
See you in Orlando, Florida for Real World 2013
More details and registration here:
http://www.realsoftware.com/community/realworld.php


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Do i need latest RB version ???
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:48 am
Posts: 3554
Location: Lenexa, KS
beginner_kev wrote:
Hi, I still use RB 2007 r3 and it works flawlessly. I never upgraded again because I don't like the new software having to create these additional files. I'm about to release some language learning software for Windows only, maybe Mac at a later date. Do i need to upgrade (is it really necessary??) This software will not access the internet at all. Only way i'd be interested in upgrading really is if RB had a built in installer, which i know it does not.. any info appreciated, thanks !!!!!


If your current version works okay then I'd stick with it. The only thing you might have issues with is well the Mac build work on modern versions of the OS (Leopard, Snow Leopard, Lion, Mountain Lion, etc).

_________________
Bob K.

A blog about being a Real Studio/Xojo developer at http://www.bkeeneybriefs.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Do i need latest RB version ???
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 7:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 9:07 pm
Posts: 34
thanks guys ! When i get to doing the Mac version i'm planning to ask if anyone here would be interested in the job.. So I'd give up the Windows program with all code and you'd just have to make one for Mac that works and displays properly. Would probably be before the end of 2012 for sure. thanks for the quick responses !


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group