Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:50 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: APK Manager, Project Source and questions.
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 10:07 am 

Hi,

I was trying for a long time to find a software to manage my .apk (Android Package) files, find duplicates and etc.
However i was not so lucky, so i thought why not to make it myself ? that shouldn't be so hard !

In very first step i failed, apk is simply a zip file, which App info are stored in AndroidManifest.xml, but its encrypted somehow.

so i used "aapt", a console app to get apk information.

So, i started to make this software, and it works actually.

Since I'm new to Real Studio and i want to learn more, I'm posting my project here.

so if someone looked into it and had comments on "How to do things right, and better" i would appreciate it :)
also, if someone found it useful (although it does not do something special !), and wanted to make it better, feel free to use it ;)

i have some questions also:

- Its a bit slow, i think its because it uses WinCMD through Shell object, but maybe i did something wrong and that's because its slow !

- I need to use a TreeView or Hierarchical ListBox to Show apps (Apps that have more than 1 version present on list, Sub-items are app version, so each App Label appears once in the list), and with checkbox, so user can select some apps (e.g. duplicate ones) and delete then for example, but i dont know how to make it work, because when a node is collapsed in ListBox, the checkboxes state will change to un-checked.

- its strange but when an app has non-english label (e.g. Persian or Chinese), the aapt tool will return strange characters, i also tried "chcp 1256" to change code-page, but no luck !

Thank you all,

If you have any Advices to be a Better programmer, I would appreciate it :)