Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:04 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Error when running old program on Windows 7
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 25
One of our customers is having a problem moving an application we developed several years ago from Windows XP to Windows 7. When trying to run the application, they get the following error:

..\..\..\..\Common\plugin.cpp:7321
Failure Condition: pluginEntryTable.GetEntry(entrypointName,out)
can't find plugin method BevelButton.DeleteAllRows

Notably this runs fine on my Windows 7 system. The code was developed on RB 2008 3.1. I am having our support group check with other customers to see how many are running on Windows 7 but I suspect that this may be specific to the customers environment.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Error when running old program on Windows 7
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:20 am
Posts: 84
precisioninfo wrote:
One of our customers is having a problem moving an application we developed several years ago from Windows XP to Windows 7. When trying to run the application, they get the following error:

..\..\..\..\Common\plugin.cpp:7321
Failure Condition: pluginEntryTable.GetEntry(entrypointName,out)
can't find plugin method BevelButton.DeleteAllRows

Notably this runs fine on my Windows 7 system. The code was developed on RB 2008 3.1. I am having our support group check with other customers to see how many are running on Windows 7 but I suspect that this may be specific to the customers environment.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.


what windows version is it ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Error when running old program on Windows 7
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:10 pm
Posts: 1855
Location: Michigan, USA
Just to be sure, the user did move the Libs directory with the executable, right? They didn't just think they could move only the executable?

_________________
Windows 8 x64
Windows XP Pro SP3
Ubuntu 11.04 via Virtual Box
RS Enterprise 2012r1.1

Programming Tutorials & Free Projects: http://www.JasonTheAdams.com
"Christianity has not been tried and found wanting; it has been found difficult and not tried." - G.K. Chesterton


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Error when running old program on Windows 7
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 1:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 25
This app uses an installer (Advanced Installer) which creates all necessary support folders when it installs the app. I just tried it on my Windows 7 system into a different directory than its default and the libs folder was created correctly and the app ran perfectly. However, you raise a good point. I will have the user try installing into a different folder so we can check what subfolders are created.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Error when running old program on Windows 7
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 1:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 11:50 am
Posts: 348
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Is the user really using the installer or are they just moving the executeable?

_________________
Best regards

Stefan

Mac OSX Mountain Lion (latest Release) on a MacBook Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core i7/ RB Professional 2011 Release 3


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Error when running old program on Windows 7
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 1:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:08 am
Posts: 1225
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
If either the <Appname> Libs or Libs folders are present but don't contain the dlls (or don't contain all of them, or if they contain sufficiently older/newer versions of the dlls relative to the EXE, or if a DLL is corrupt, or if some file permissions snafu rendered one or more unreadable by the user, etc.) then this could give rise to this error.

_________________
Boredom Software


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Error when running old program on Windows 7
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 25
I'm checking on this...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group