Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Fri Oct 18, 2019 5:21 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Resizing On Windows
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:35 pm
Posts: 21
Hello All. I am working on a simple database project that should work on mac and windows. I have a very simple window with 1 listbox, 3 pushbuttons and 1 textfield. When I resize it on mac, everything redraws fine, but on windows the listbox does not redraw properly. Picture below. I am using RBStudio 2011 R2.

Image

I am using lock top,left,bottom,right on the listbox.
Tested on XP and Windows 7 with the same result.

Any suggestions on how I might go about resolving this issue.

Thanks in advance for any clues.

_________________
Using RealBasic Professional Edition 2011 Release 2


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Resizing On Windows
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:01 pm
Posts: 61
strange, haven't experienced this yet.. if you can provide a temp link for me to download a small example project with this bug reproduced i might be able to help you if you need help fixing it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Resizing On Windows
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:01 pm
Posts: 61
Certainly does appear to be a bug related to the toolbar control and listboxes. I made the toolbar invisible and the redrawing bug didn't occur then but that is no real solution lol.

#if TargetWin32 then
self.Refresh
#endif

inserting that code into the windows resizing event would be the simplest work around I think. Or you could more accurately erase the garbage with refreshRect perhaps to reduce on the slight flickering of the window that refresh causes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Resizing On Windows
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:35 pm
Posts: 21
Great, this gives me somewhere to begin.

Thanks @pawn

_________________
Using RealBasic Professional Edition 2011 Release 2


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Resizing On Windows
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 11:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:35 pm
Posts: 21
Fixed it with

#if TargetWin32 then
self.refresh
#endif

In the resized of the window event Thanks again :-)

_________________
Using RealBasic Professional Edition 2011 Release 2


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Resizing On Windows
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 12:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 2:02 pm
Posts: 237
Location: Sunny (generally!) Southern California
Strange. I have not seen that problem. Are you building the Windows version on Windows or cross-compiling from the Mac? If cross-compiling, maybe the problem is there.

I build my apps on Windows and don't see that problem.

- Dale

_________________
-----
Real Studio 2012r1 on Windows 7 (64 bit)
-----
It has been said that politics is the second oldest profession.
I have learned that it bears a striking resemblance to the first.
- Ronald Reagan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Resizing On Windows
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:35 pm
Posts: 21
Actually I tried both ways...

Originally coded on mac, and compiled for Windows. Tried it on WinXP.
Then opened the project in RB in Windows 7 and Same result.

I was a bit discouraged at first, as this window literally had about controls on it. But then was encouraged that the little bit of code above resolved it. Now I can continue with features.

_________________
Using RealBasic Professional Edition 2011 Release 2


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Resizing On Windows
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 6:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:01 pm
Posts: 61
I only build in windows and I reproduced the bug, the bug only happens when there is a toolbar control on the window. RS 2011 r2


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Resizing On Windows
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:01 pm
Posts: 61
simple example project showing the bug which is present in 2011 r2
just run and resize the window
http://ee.fastpalaces.com/resizeMe.zip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Resizing On Windows
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 8:48 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Midlands, UK
Is there a feedback ID for this bug ? I have the same problem and Self.Refresh doesn't work
Cheers - Steve

_________________
web: http://www.artenscience.com
blog:http://www.stevencholerton.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Resizing On Windows
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 4:04 am
Posts: 513
Location: Indonesia
hi pawn,
I like the toolbar plugin on resizeme.rbp.
How can i put command on each button?

Thx

Regards,
Rivo


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Resizing On Windows
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 6:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 465
I just tested my apps in Windows and whenever I resized the windows, I have multiple draw of the push buttons and other controls. Seems the only way to get around this is at the Resized Event for the Form, I just have to set the me.refresh and it settled this out.

Is this is bug or it is supposed to be like that ?

_________________
RealStudio 2012R1 ♡ Macbook Pro Mac OS X 10.8.1 Moutain Lion
http://www.batchimage.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group