Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Tue Nov 12, 2019 4:22 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:07 am
Posts: 9
Windows 7, big screen resolution (1920x1080), big screen dpi (> 180). When i set in windows control panel scale to 125 or 150%, i get font clipping in edit fields.

Look at http://multik.org/rbbug1.png - In "super" word Window are cutted
http://multik.org/rbbug2.png - this happens, when i try to edit cell in ListBox

How to fix this?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 4:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:48 am
Posts: 108
Location: The Netherlands (LB)
Is this also going wrong in static text labels, when they are set to bold?

One of my customers also put his characters to 125% at windows config.
Most apps will scale thier characters perfect. In my RB app the text is shown bigger but it doesn't fit any more in the textfield of label. Mostly for bolded text.
Looks like exactly as is your images. Only difference: I see this in a compiled app instead of the ide.

I couldn't resolve this, i'm sorry.

_________________
Marc
The Netherlands
___________________________________________________________________
Desktop / Web: RealStudio with MySQL, Ben's Listbox, MBS plugins, DynaPDF
Mobile: Basic4Android Use this code (cgtdsr) if you want to buy an enterprice license -50%


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:07 am
Posts: 9
Marc wrote:
Is this also going wrong in static text labels, when they are set to bold?

yes ^(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:14 pm 
Offline
Real Software Engineer

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 8:18 pm
Posts: 7858
Location: Canada, Alberta, Near Red Deer
Sounds like the trouble here is that TEXT is set to appear larger (125% of normal, etc) but the size of the control is still set in pixels and NOT relative to the size of text

_________________
Norman Palardy (Real Software)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:07 am
Posts: 9
npalardy wrote:
Sounds like the trouble here is that TEXT is set to appear larger (125% of normal, etc) but the size of the control is still set in pixels and NOT relative to the size of text

Yep. I think its a bug in RB.

I play sometime with textboxes, listboxes etc with 100% of global scale and 125%. Result are ... very bad.

If i set measurent unit to pixels, all ok. But if i set it to points, millimeters or inches ...

So, all looks like all dimensions sized in pixels except when it edited. In that case it sized in point, inches or millimeters.

Workaround: use only pixels ^)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:39 am 
Offline
Real Software Engineer

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 8:18 pm
Posts: 7858
Location: Canada, Alberta, Near Red Deer
multik wrote:
npalardy wrote:
Sounds like the trouble here is that TEXT is set to appear larger (125% of normal, etc) but the size of the control is still set in pixels and NOT relative to the size of text

Yep. I think its a bug in RB.

I play sometime with textboxes, listboxes etc with 100% of global scale and 125%. Result are ... very bad.

If i set measurent unit to pixels, all ok. But if i set it to points, millimeters or inches ...

So, all looks like all dimensions sized in pixels except when it edited. In that case it sized in point, inches or millimeters.

Workaround: use only pixels ^)


Not sure this is a "bug"

If something is set to be 10 point and you tell Windows to make it 150% larger the text is still 10 point - Windows just shows it as 15 point (150 larger) and I'm not certain that REAL Studio evens knows this is occurring.

Perhaps file a feedback report and see what they say

_________________
Norman Palardy (Real Software)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:44 pm
Posts: 673
Does this problem happen with other programs made with other tools?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:07 am
Posts: 9
npalardy wrote:
If something is set to be 10 point and you tell Windows to make it 150% larger the text is still 10 point - Windows just shows it as 15 point (150 larger) and I'm not certain that REAL Studio evens knows this is occurring.

Perhaps file a feedback report and see what they say

it happens, when scale set to 100%


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:07 am
Posts: 9
J.Sh3ppard wrote:
Does this problem happen with other programs made with other tools?

Mostly no. In all my programms, i see this only in one - MyLifeOrganized. Other works perfect


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:06 pm 
Offline
Real Software Engineer

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 8:18 pm
Posts: 7858
Location: Canada, Alberta, Near Red Deer
multik wrote:
npalardy wrote:
If something is set to be 10 point and you tell Windows to make it 150% larger the text is still 10 point - Windows just shows it as 15 point (150 larger) and I'm not certain that REAL Studio evens knows this is occurring.

Perhaps file a feedback report and see what they say

it happens, when scale set to 100%


Is your DPI set to 96 or 120 (or higher ?)

_________________
Norman Palardy (Real Software)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:07 am
Posts: 9
npalardy wrote:
multik wrote:
npalardy wrote:
If something is set to be 10 point and you tell Windows to make it 150% larger the text is still 10 point - Windows just shows it as 15 point (150 larger) and I'm not certain that REAL Studio evens knows this is occurring.

Perhaps file a feedback report and see what they say

it happens, when scale set to 100%


Is your DPI set to 96 or 120 (or higher ?)

It does not matter. Its really bug in RB. Now i collect all info and send it to RB developers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:07 am
Posts: 9
Ok, next stage. I check RB & windows7 in separate configurations: with scale, without, on usual monitors and with big monitors ...

Look at http://multik.org/rb_text_bug.png (make from http://multik.org/rb_text_bug.rbp). When listbox need to show grid, it always uses pixels for dimensions and ignore TextUnit. But when listbox need to edit inline, it stops ignoring TextUnit settings and show editable text in small cutting window.

Load rb_text_bug.rbp from link below and play with ListBox textunit&textsize properties.

Could anybody check for this effect on windows xp?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:07 am
Posts: 9
Post this bug to feedback with id 16126

<feedback://showreport?report_id=16126>


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Realbasic on high screen resolution on windows 7
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 6:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:48 am
Posts: 108
Location: The Netherlands (LB)
Yes, This also happens on XP. I used your example to test it.

I saw the bugreport says that it is fixed for the next release. Very Quick!

_________________
Marc
The Netherlands
___________________________________________________________________
Desktop / Web: RealStudio with MySQL, Ben's Listbox, MBS plugins, DynaPDF
Mobile: Basic4Android Use this code (cgtdsr) if you want to buy an enterprice license -50%


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group