Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:09 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: App Windows Settings
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 37
App Windows Settings doesn't seem to work correctly on Vista (RB2008r3.1)
When I set the properties Version Info, CompanyName and ProductName the executable still shows blanks for Product name, Product version and Copyright under File Properties => Details

However, after just opening and saving the the file with a resource editor (like Resourcer Tuner), the info shows up correclty under File Properties => Details

So, it seems like the build process is missing something. Is this a known bug?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: App Windows Settings
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 1:30 pm
Posts: 3108
Location: U.S.A (often), Creswell, often Dallas, Atlanta, Spokane, Pago Pago.
Quote:
Is this a known bug?

It is now. :)
Please report it.

Michael

_________________
REAL Studio 2010 R2 Mac and Win, OS X (10.6.2), Win XP SP 3 and Win 7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: App Windows Settings
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:39 am
Posts: 9341
Location: St Augusta, MN
mrebar wrote:
It is now. :)
Please report it.


Uh... no (but you get an 'e' for "effort"!) :-)

The behavior depends entirely on the version of Windows you're using. Vista doesn't show you the Company information in the properties dialog, but XP shows them.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: App Windows Settings
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 6:28 pm
Posts: 277
Quote:
Uh... no (but you get an 'e' for "effort"!) :-)

The behavior depends entirely on the version of Windows you're using. Vista doesn't show you the Company information in the properties dialog, but XP shows them.
mrebar wrote:
It is now. :)
Please report it.


Sorry, but you just confused me.

Are you saying that some more work needs to be done to show "Company information" in Vista Windows, and the XP version of Windows works with your code?

Or are you saying Windows REMOVED that property?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: App Windows Settings
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 1:30 pm
Posts: 3108
Location: U.S.A (often), Creswell, often Dallas, Atlanta, Spokane, Pago Pago.
Quote:
Vista doesn't show you the Company information in the properties dialog

I'll take the 'e', but I still consider it a bug until it is (a) either documented as such, or (b) functions as it does elsewhere.

Michael

_________________
REAL Studio 2010 R2 Mac and Win, OS X (10.6.2), Win XP SP 3 and Win 7


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: App Windows Settings
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 12:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 37
Aaron Ballman wrote:
The behavior depends entirely on the version of Windows you're using. Vista doesn't show you the Company information in the properties dialog, but XP shows them.


CompanyName: OK
but what about
File description
Product name
Product version

They all show up after you edit and save it with Resource Tuner


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: App Windows Settings
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:59 am
Posts: 465
I know this is an old thread but it still appears that it is an ongoing issue.

I compile my Windows app on the Mac version of RealStudio 2011R1 and when I try to see the details of my app in Windows 7, it still shows blank. No Company Name, ProductName or anything. The Description does show up as my version number.

Apart from Resource Tuner, there are any ways I could resolve this issue with RealStudio ?

_________________
RealStudio 2012R1 ♡ Macbook Pro Mac OS X 10.8.1 Moutain Lion
http://www.batchimage.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group