Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Sun Aug 18, 2019 8:17 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Making a Card Game with Cards.dll
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:42 pm 

Have you ever found yourself wondering how to make a card game, but don't want to go through all the hassles of making the graphics and putting all the logic into drawing cards? Then you're a lot like me! There are a lot of fun card games out there that I want to make (because I never seem to find them in commercial products -- like War and Pyramid Solitaire), but I'm a terrible artist. However, I've always found that it's better to avoid reinventing the wheel whenever possible -- and Microsoft has been kind enough to put all the legwork into card games for you!

I've concocted a tutorial on how to implement the graphics for a card game using Microsoft's Cards.dll file (installed already on every version of Windows that REALbasic supports). Additionally, I've created an example project that takes this knowledge and puts it to use by making the game "War." You can find the project on my website:

http://www.aaronballman.com/programming/REALbasic/Cards.php

Enjoy!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:53 pm 

So how does it work? Is it compiled into your project standalone or does the Cards.dll file need to be installed on the users computer already?

You can just scan a 2-10 card and just edit in new text and then scan the 18 cards for aces and royalty. The whole thing can be done with just two scans. I think I'll put my trust in those rather than in some Microsoft gobbledegook.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 5:45 pm 

The cards.dll file is already installed on every version of Windows that REALbasic compiles for. You're certainly welcome to scan in your own graphics and use those -- this is simply using the system facilities.

Post subject: