Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Sun Mar 26, 2017 12:03 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Young Programmer Wants to Write Games
PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:14 pm 

I'm tutoring an 8th-grader in REALbasic. He's written some interesting programs with it, including a Latin dictionary program, a program to calculate different mathematical functions, and one for teachers to use to figure out grades.

Now he wants to write (not unexpected for a person of his age) GAMES, NOT logical board-game games (which I have had some experience in writing), BUT animated arcade games (in 3D, if possible).

REALbasic is great for many things, but writing such games does not seem the strongest point for RB at the present time. I want to keep him working with REALbasic, but I have been wondering whether -- after his having somewhat of a foundation in REALbasic -- I also ought to encourage him to experiment with something specifically oriented toward games, NOT as a replacement for, but as a supplement to, RB.

I understand that BlitzBasic and Darkbasic are two options to consider as programming languages that are game-friendly (even if they may not be useful for much else). Is anyone familiar with either of these? Is one closer to RB than the other?

Games seem to be NOT for beginners and NOT for kids in RB (unless people can point me to RB game resources that are suitable for young people who are not experienced, professional programmers).

Any advice?

Barry Traver

Post subject: Re: Young Programmer Wants to Write Games
PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:25 pm 

You might also want to look at GameMaker. It's not a programming language per se, but it is simple to use and beginner friendly. The main issue with games isn't programming, it's graphics. It's very easy to get bogged down in creating graphics for a game, especially for arcade type ones.