Real Software Forums

WebMapViewer in ContainerControl
Page 1 of 1

Author:  RobertLob [ Sun May 19, 2013 1:09 pm ]
Post subject:  WebMapViewer in ContainerControl

It is my understanding that the coordinates (Lat and Long) of a location should appear at the center of a WebMapViewer.

This happens when I put a WebMapViewer directly on a WebPage. But when I put the WebMapViewer in a ContainerControl, then put that ContainerControl on a web page, the same coordinates show up at the top-left of the WebMapViewer.

Have I missed something, or is it a bug? If a bug, any workarounds? If I've missed something, what?

Author:  Paul Lefebvre [ Wed May 22, 2013 2:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WebMapViewer in ContainerControl

I suppose it could be a bug. Submit a Feedback case with an example project and we'll take a look at it.

Author:  RobertLob [ Sun May 26, 2013 10:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: WebMapViewer in ContainerControl

Thanks, Paul - apparently no one else is having the problem, so I played around with it some more. A simple example works as expected. One container control with the map on it.

On a more complex page with half a dozen container controls overlapping each other, there appears to be a timing problem - the webMapViewer isn't quite able to get it handled. Each container control in the stack except the first one to appear are no visible and not enabled until they are called.

My solution was to make the Map container both visible and enabled and then not visible and disabled when the first container control is shown. Seems to give the map one time to finish the job. Works fine from there on.

Author:  timhare [ Sun May 26, 2013 5:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WebMapViewer in ContainerControl

RobertLob wrote:
controls overlapping each other

There's your problem. Overlapping controls cause all sorts of problems.

Author:  RobertLob [ Sun May 26, 2013 7:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WebMapViewer in ContainerControl

Tim - aware of overlapping controls, but didn't think that applied to container controls. I have 6 or 8 of them all the same size, each replacing a previous one via a navigation bar. I keep them invisible and disabled except when they are called.
Maybe I'm lucky I only had trouble with the map viewer cc. However the rest of them are primarily labels and text fields or areas. I did have to put a U-Tube viewer on one today, but it seems to be working fine as well.

Anyway, thanks. problem worked around.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group