Real Software Forums
http://forums.realsoftware.com/

InmotionHosting WE Setup
http://forums.realsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=47628
Page 1 of 2

Author:  rvanar [ Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:48 pm ]
Post subject:  InmotionHosting WE Setup

Ok so I decided to go with inmotionhosting since RB uses it for their Demo... so I know it should work. I contacted RB and they suggested using the forums.

I'm on a VPS CENTOS 6.4 x86_64 and have emailed the support team there letting them know that I need to have the 32bit libraries installed. They wrote back saying they need something more specific.

InmotionHosting Tech Support wrote:
You may indeed need additional compatibility information, however, as this is 3rd party software, this information can vary. I recommend contacting the developer to receive information from them on exactly what packages that this requires.

On ubuntu, etc. the package ia32-libs is a generic collection of i386 runtime libraries. On Centos, the package will be called something like glibc.i386 but that may not be the only i386 package that you require in order to run Boinc. If you could supply an rpm to install or the name of the rpm for the Cent OS system we can get that installed for you.


I'm really hoping for community help and thanks in advance to all those that reply.

Author:  Akiland [ Thu Apr 18, 2013 1:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

Do you have SSH access to the VPS? :-)
If you do you can install ia32-Libs yourself using apt-get (if it's installed)
Simply run: apt-get install ia32-libs

Author:  rvanar [ Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

Akiland wrote:
Do you have SSH access to the VPS? :-)
If you do you can install ia32-Libs yourself using apt-get (if it's installed)
Simply run: apt-get install ia32-libs


Thanks Akiland - I do have access to SSH but not sure if I need root access. I tried typing that into terminal once I was logged in and it gave me the following error:

-bash:apt-get: command not found


Should I ask tech support if they can run that code for me?

Author:  Jason_Adams [ Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

Try: sudo apt-get install ia32-libs

Sudo tells Linux you're trying to perform the command administratively.

Author:  rvanar [ Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

Jason_Adams wrote:
Try: sudo apt-get install ia32-libs

Sudo tells Linux you're trying to perform the command administratively.



I guess I'm not an admin I get the following error:
USERNAME is not a sudoers file. This incident will be reported.


Really baffle's me as why R.S. has them on the list and they even use them to run the CGI script (and no setup instructions). I have the script running fine on my shared hosting (not inmotionhosting) and was contacted saying it was using too much of the CPU's resources.

Author:  rvanar [ Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

I found this not sure if it's something that would help but it sounds exactly like my issue.

http://www.realsoftware.com/listarchives/realbasic-nug/2012-02/msg01108.html

Author:  Akiland [ Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

Hmm, seems that Centos is a bit trickier than Ubuntu ;)
Tell the support to install the libs necessary to run 32 bit apps on their 64 bit system. They should know what to do :)

Author:  rvanar [ Thu Apr 18, 2013 5:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

Akiland wrote:
Hmm, seems that Centos is a bit trickier than Ubuntu ;)
Tell the support to install the libs necessary to run 32 bit apps on their 64 bit system. They should know what to do :)


Maybe I should cancel this service...I contacted support - what you told me and they responded with...

InmotionHosting Tech Support wrote:
Are you aware where the packages can be downloaded? If you can provide the package files we will be glad to install them for you. Please let us know if you have any questions.

Author:  Paul Lefebvre [ Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

I'm not a CentOS expert, preferring to use Debian/Ubuntu.

In general, you probably want to start with one of these two commands depending on the version:

CentOS 6.x
# yum reinstall glibc.i686 glibc-devel.i686

CentOS 4.x, 5.x
# yum reinstall glibc.i386 glibc-devel.i386


If that is not sufficient then you'll need to use the ldd command on the built app:

ldd myappname

This will show additional libraries that are needed. They can be installed using these commands:

yum whatprovides */libname
yum install packagename

More practically, it might be easier to just deploy a 32-bit Linux VPS or to use Debian.

References:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... um-505352/
https://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/vi ... c_id=37048

Author:  rvanar [ Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

Alright just to update - I sent them what you said Paul (BTY thanks for all your tutorials) and seems like they are giving up and telling me that I need a dedicated host if I want to try loading all those scripts.

Tech Support wrote:
Thank you for contacting us.

Unfortunately what you are trying to do is not something supported by our technical department. You would have to reach out to our Advanced Hosting support department for custom server configurations based on third party requirements that we do not provide by default:
http://www.inmotionhosting.com/premier- ... ed-servers

As multi lib configurations may break existing servers, this is only something that our Advanced Hosting team would be able to provide.


So if anyone has other hosting providers where that they can provide easy setup directions let me know.

Thanks for everyone's help.

Author:  Akiland [ Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

We use iPeer VPS A (Ubuntu): http://cdn.ipeerhosting.com/linux-vps.php (Located somewhere in Sweden)
I think they still offer a 2 week free tryout if you contact them and ask for it. To get a stand alone app running, just install ia32 libs through SSH and everything should work. (at least thats how I remember I did)
I'm sure there are many other providers that others use too :)

Author:  Specialised [ Fri Apr 19, 2013 7:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

I use amazon web services and turnketlinux's LAMP stack.

You can also download the image from Turnkey and install it on virtualbox on your PC if you like (no host necessary).

Author:  jharris [ Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

I've been using http://www.interserver.net/vps/home.php for almost two years.Their VPS packages start at $6.00 a month. I don't have any WE apps running on it right now, but I've played with a couple of test apps and they ran just fine. They also provide a large selection of operating systems you can install. With Ubuntu you can install 32 or 64 bit... not sure about the others.

Author:  rvanar [ Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

Thanks again for those suggestions on VPS - I'll take a look at them. If any of you are affiliates feel free to PM me the code - if I decide to go with them I want to make sure I give you credit.

Not really sure which one I need but here's a screen capture of what I'm trying to prevent. Right now I'm on a shared server and hopefully on a VPS the lag will go away.

Video of WebApp Running on Shared Server: http://gomotherrucker.com/help/realbasic_shared/

The video is in realtime nothing was paused and I was doing a simple query to fill a list box. When I run in RB Test mode this lag is not noticeable.

Author:  tbond [ Tue May 14, 2013 9:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: InmotionHosting WE Setup

Hey guys. I just wanted to write and give some sort of detail in setting up WE apps on InMotion Hosting. I just started the setup about 3 days ago and have it complete with a test app up and running.

The important things to note are:
    1. Get a VPS. For now I'm using VPS-1000
    2. You must physically request root access from them.
      a. Log into AMP
      b. Under "Additional Services", click "Other"
      c. Under "Add Services", click the account in question
      d. Click "Request Root Access"
    3. Once root access is enabled, you must change your domain nameservers. InMotion will set them up for you as ns1 and ns2.yourdomain.com.
    4. Upload one of your web apps, libs, etc. and use standard permissions (755 for app, cgi and Lib directory and (debatable) 777 for config file.
    5. SSH into your server as root:
      a. # ssh root@vps####.inmotionhosting.com (#### of course is your VPS number)
    6. While in SSH you need to install ia32-libs… HOWEVER, InMotion uses CentOS, so you have to physically install each of these yourself as root. Navigate to one of your apps and:
      a. type ldd <appname>. For instance, one of my apps is called 'cp', so I key in # ldd cp
      b. You'll get a response such as:
        # ldd cp
        linux-gate.so.1 => (0x00def000)
        libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0x004a9000)
        libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0x0084c000)
        libstdc++.so.6 => not found
        libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0x00942000)
        libgcc_s.so.1 => /lib/libgcc_s.so.1 (0x00468000)
        libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0x005c2000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0x00cd4000)
      c. This shows the different libraries required by your app.
      d. Step through each, determining which package has the appropriate libraries by:
        1. Typing # yum provides <library name>. Example: # yum provides libdl.so.2

          # yum provides libdl.so.2
          Loaded plugins: fastestmirror
          Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
          * base: mirror.veracruz.co
          * extras: mirror.stanford.edu
          * updates: mirrors.versaweb.com
          base | 3.7 kB 00:00
          extras | 3.5 kB 00:00
          imhbase | 951 B 00:00
          imhbase/primary | 13 kB 00:00
          imhbase 62/62
          updates | 3.5 kB 00:00
          glibc-2.12-1.107.el6.i686 : The GNU libc libraries
          Repo : base
          Matched from:
          Other : libdl.so.2
          glibc-2.12-1.107.el6.i686 : The GNU libc libraries
          Repo : installed
          Matched from:
          Other : Provides-match: libdl.so.2
      e. Find the specific packages, in this case "glibc-2.12-1.107.el6.i686" and install it by typing this:
        1. # yum install <name>. Example: # yum install glibc-2.12-1.107.el6.i686
      f. Repeat d and e for each library. When I did this with InMotion, I only had to install for libstdc++.so.6 and libgcc_s.so.1
    7. Test your web app


Good luck!

- Taylor

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/