Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:50 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problem with zlib
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 1:43 pm
Posts: 209
Location: Santa Ynez, CA
I am using the zlib module that was published by declareSub.com. This module is part of TurboReports. Unfortunately, declareSub.com no longer exists. For a couple years, zlibPath for Linux has been /usr/lib/libz.so.1. and everything worked fine. I recently moved to a different hosting company and I changed the path to /usr/lib64/libz.so.1 based on an email from the host's technical support. Now when I call the function, I get
Quote:
Unhandled FunctionNotFoundException
Message: Could not load compress from /usr/lib64/libz.so.1
The relevant part of the tech support email reads
Quote:
Centos 6 x86_64 bit system /usr/lib64/libz.so

/usr/lib64/libz.so -> ../../lib64/libz.so.1.2.3

zlib-1.2.3-27.el6.x86_64
zlib-1.2.3-27.el6.i686

It is installed by default Centos 6 x86_64 , development files are not I installed them just encase.

zlib-devel.x86_64 0:1.2.3-27.el6

--------
I barely know enough about Linux to get by and this is above my pay grade.

My app runs as a cgi.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem with zlib
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:10 am
Posts: 1086
Location: Boiling Springs, SC
What are you trying to do...have you taken a look at

http://www.tempel.org/RB/ZipPackage

?

_________________
Matthew A. Combatti
Real Studio 2012 r1.2

Visit Xojo Developer's Spot!
Systems I Use:
Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows Server 2008 r2/Windows 7/Windows 8
Mac OSX 10.5/Mac OSX 10.6/Mac OSX Server/Ubuntu/Debian/Suse/Red Hat/
Windows Server 2011/CentOS 5.4 /ReactOS/SimOS

~All Xojo Compatible~


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem with zlib
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 1:43 pm
Posts: 209
Location: Santa Ynez, CA
TurboReports uses a RealBasic version of fpdf, originally a PHP function, to generate pdf files. fpdf uses declares to call specific functions from the libz file. A quick look at the tempel ZipPackage was not encouraging.

It turns out I was pointing to the wrong folder. It was not under /usr.


Last edited by dgdavidge on Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem with zlib
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:10 am
Posts: 1086
Location: Boiling Springs, SC
Is this Linux? I know Linux does have some suexec issues between 32 and 64 bit apps but on windows architecture the 32 bit memory pointers are still there with the addition of 32 more...so 32 and 64 bit apps will run on a 64 bit platform...but a 64 bit app will not work on a 32 bit system. I will do some personal research and see
What I can find through reading and hands on this evening with the fPDF (spelling?..mobile at the moment) and zlib with real studio...

_________________
Matthew A. Combatti
Real Studio 2012 r1.2

Visit Xojo Developer's Spot!
Systems I Use:
Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows Server 2008 r2/Windows 7/Windows 8
Mac OSX 10.5/Mac OSX 10.6/Mac OSX Server/Ubuntu/Debian/Suse/Red Hat/
Windows Server 2011/CentOS 5.4 /ReactOS/SimOS

~All Xojo Compatible~


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem with zlib
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 2:42 pm
Posts: 2985
Location: Germany
MBS Plugins include also zip functions.

But anyway, the problem seems to be that it tries to load a 64bit library:

Could not load compress from /usr/lib64/libz.so.1

So maybe you change path to use lib instead of lib64.

Greetings
Christian

_________________
See you in Orlando, Florida for Real World 2013
More details and registration here:
http://www.realsoftware.com/community/realworld.php


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Problem with zlib
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 1:43 pm
Posts: 209
Location: Santa Ynez, CA
It is Linux. The problem turned out to be very simple. The email from tech support was wrong. The file was in /lib64/, not /usr/lib64/. It works fine now. Thanks for the suggestions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group