Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:14 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: I need a Real Web deployment example
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 1:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:02 am
Posts: 1236
Location: Jönköping, Sweden
I get this errormessage the first time I access my app: "Application launched, but unable to connect using port [random port]."
When I refresh, the app starts just fine.

Do I have a server configuration fault perhaps? :)
It's a Mac Mini G4, Leopard Server.

_________________
Image http://www.linkedin.com/in/albinkiland
Dev. iMac 27" + 2x22" LG (2.8GHz Intel Core i7, 12GB RAM, 120GB SSD) OS X 10.8
Xojo Pro 2013r1


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need a Real Web deployment example
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:48 am
Posts: 3554
Location: Lenexa, KS
Akiland wrote:
I get this errormessage the first time I access my app: "Application launched, but unable to connect using port [random port]."
When I refresh, the app starts just fine.

Do I have a server configuration fault perhaps? :)
It's a Mac Mini G4, Leopard Server.


I see this quit a bit too and I'm on a Linux server. But only the first time it's run.

_________________
Bob K.

A blog about being a Real Studio/Xojo developer at http://www.bkeeneybriefs.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need a Real Web deployment example
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 4:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:02 am
Posts: 1236
Location: Jönköping, Sweden
Bob Keeney wrote:
Akiland wrote:
I get this errormessage the first time I access my app: "Application launched, but unable to connect using port [random port]."
When I refresh, the app starts just fine.

Do I have a server configuration fault perhaps? :)
It's a Mac Mini G4, Leopard Server.


I see this quit a bit too and I'm on a Linux server. But only the first time it's run.


Yep, only on the first run. But my app isn't accessed quite so frequently so I suspect that Apache is killing the process every now and then when it's not used for x amount of minutes. I'll have to look some more in the apache manual to see if there's a setting for this of some kind. Or does anyone have another idea? :)

_________________
Image http://www.linkedin.com/in/albinkiland
Dev. iMac 27" + 2x22" LG (2.8GHz Intel Core i7, 12GB RAM, 120GB SSD) OS X 10.8
Xojo Pro 2013r1


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need a Real Web deployment example
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:57 am
Posts: 569
Location: Sydney Australia
Hi all,

Finally decided to get up to speed on WE and create a hello world.
I have read through this forum, looked at Bobs video's changed permissions and have had varying success without getting the app to work.
The following is the sequence of events;

1/ Created linux app with auto port as a cgi
2/ Ubuntu server (in my office) with cgi and apache installed (No vps etc just a good old install)
3/ Uploaded files (as is) to server with Filezilla (Binary mode)
4/ Changed permissions to 775 - Got the message "Cannot write to config.cgi"
5/ Changed config.cgi permission to 777 - get message "Unable to launch application on port 48840: No such file or directory"

Am I missing something simple?

_________________
Regards

Chris Musty
http://www.specialised.net.au
-----------------------------------------------
if date.shortdate >= 4/6/2013 then
msgbox "I am using Xojo - YAY!!!"
else
msgbox "I am still using RS 12r2.1 - BOO!!!"
end if

Win 8 Pro, Ubuntu 13.04, Mint and Debian(gnome and KDE)
AWS for Hosting and TKL for AMI's


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need a Real Web deployment example
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:02 am
Posts: 1236
Location: Jönköping, Sweden
Specialised wrote:
Hi all,

Finally decided to get up to speed on WE and create a hello world.
I have read through this forum, looked at Bobs video's changed permissions and have had varying success without getting the app to work.
The following is the sequence of events;

1/ Created linux app with auto port as a cgi
2/ Ubuntu server (in my office) with cgi and apache installed (No vps etc just a good old install)
3/ Uploaded files (as is) to server with Filezilla (Binary mode)
4/ Changed permissions to 775 - Got the message "Cannot write to config.cgi"
5/ Changed config.cgi permission to 777 - get message "Unable to launch application on port 48840: No such file or directory"

Am I missing something simple?


I have my permissions set to 755 on the config/cgi/and app.
Try that :)

_________________
Image http://www.linkedin.com/in/albinkiland
Dev. iMac 27" + 2x22" LG (2.8GHz Intel Core i7, 12GB RAM, 120GB SSD) OS X 10.8
Xojo Pro 2013r1


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need a Real Web deployment example
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:57 am
Posts: 569
Location: Sydney Australia
I meant 755 not 775 but that does not work. besides 775 are less restrictive so should not be an issue.
config.cfg definitely does not work unless it is 777.

_________________
Regards

Chris Musty
http://www.specialised.net.au
-----------------------------------------------
if date.shortdate >= 4/6/2013 then
msgbox "I am using Xojo - YAY!!!"
else
msgbox "I am still using RS 12r2.1 - BOO!!!"
end if

Win 8 Pro, Ubuntu 13.04, Mint and Debian(gnome and KDE)
AWS for Hosting and TKL for AMI's


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need a Real Web deployment example
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2011 2:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 1:41 pm
Posts: 112
Location: USA.
Bob Keeney wrote:
You need to upload the ENTIRE directory because there's an invisible .htaccess file in the build directory that needs to be there


I had the same issue on my Snow Leopard Server, but when I copied the .htaccess file, everything started working just fine. It solved the problem for me.

I had missed that initially since its hidden.

_________________
Regards,
Trauncher


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need a Real Web deployment example
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2011 2:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 1:41 pm
Posts: 112
Location: USA.
Trauncher wrote:
Bob Keeney wrote:
You need to upload the ENTIRE directory because there's an invisible .htaccess file in the build directory that needs to be there


I had the same issue on my Snow Leopard Server, but when I copied the .htaccess file, everything started working just fine. It solved the problem for me.

I had missed that initially since its hidden.


for some unknown reason, the problem is back. apparently the .htaccess file has nothing to do with it.

_________________
Regards,
Trauncher


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need a Real Web deployment example
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2011 5:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:57 am
Posts: 569
Location: Sydney Australia
You can always try running it through virtual box on you PC as shown in a video I posted in http://forums.realsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=38733
When I did this I learnt allot of little things to get it working.

_________________
Regards

Chris Musty
http://www.specialised.net.au
-----------------------------------------------
if date.shortdate >= 4/6/2013 then
msgbox "I am using Xojo - YAY!!!"
else
msgbox "I am still using RS 12r2.1 - BOO!!!"
end if

Win 8 Pro, Ubuntu 13.04, Mint and Debian(gnome and KDE)
AWS for Hosting and TKL for AMI's


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need a Real Web deployment example
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2011 11:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 1:41 pm
Posts: 112
Location: USA.
Specialised wrote:
You can always try running it through virtual box on you PC as shown in a video I posted in http://forums.realsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=38733
When I did this I learnt allot of little things to get it working.


ok... now I am convinced that this is a bug in WE. If I compile my project using 2011 R1, it does not give me the unable to connect error... if I take that SAME code, compile it on 2011 R1.1, the error is back. Something in R1.1 changed, and brought the bug back.

I had found a workaround by setting values in a session object from the default form open event that made the problem go away... in 2011 r1, it fixes it... same code in 2011 r1.1, no go... ARGGGGGG....

_________________
Regards,
Trauncher


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group