Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:14 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help with TCPSocket IPs for client server apps.
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 6:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:18 pm
Posts: 7
I'm a networking novice and not sure what IP to use for my server and client on a TCPSocket object, on Mac OSX Lion.

Do I just assign a server IP like 192.168.1.101 or something?

Or do I check ipconfig or ifconfig?

It's confusing because ifconfig provides a bunch, and Parallels sets up vnics on the Mac with IP 10.211.55.2 and 10.211.55.5 on the XP virtual.

Help!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with TCPSocket IPs for client server apps.
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 6:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 5:35 am
Posts: 2412
Location: Netherlands
Your want to connect 2 local (network) computers?

If so then just assign the .Address = "[remote address string]" and let the other computer listen.
Make sure the port to be used on both is the same.

_________________
SWORT™
- Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux Mint 11 and Mac OSX Lion
- REAL Studio Enterprise(latest) and WEB Edition(latest)
- Plugins (MBS Complete, ToringoLib, Einhugur, VanHoek + Some open source plugins)
For Dutch User Groups ask me to enter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help with TCPSocket IPs for client server apps.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:45 pm
Posts: 220
On Mac you should do ifconfig on the computer where the serverapplication runs.
Where you have to look depends on the fact if your wired or wireless. You should look at "inet" and an IP adress after that.

OR: Another way, search on your Mac for 'network utility'. Select a network interface there (the one you are using), and the IP adress pops-up.

If both your server and client are running on the same computer, you can always just use 'localhost' or '127.0.0.1'. (But localhost is better).

_________________
My native language is not English.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group