Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Sat Oct 19, 2019 10:49 am
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Problem rapidly firing off asynchronous HTTPsocket POSTs
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:27 am 

I am a newbie at network communications so please forgive me if this question is incorrectly or imprecisely worded.

The problem space is remote control using M2M cloud based services. I have an application with a slider that is controlling a remote device. The cloud interface requires HTTP POSTs with the value of the slider (e.g. #00 - #FF representing hex number - 256 values).

I have a application where the Action method for the slider fills in a form and executes the HTTPsocket.post method. Works great as long as frequency at which the posts are made is very slow (e.g. once/second). However if I enable the slider's LiveScroll and send multiple posts quickly in a row then only the last one is registered by the cloud server.

I fired up Wireshark and noticed although there is a whole lot of TCP traffic between my machine and the server (proportional to how many times the Action method is being called), only one actual HTTP POST gets through (the final value).

Changing the post to be synchronous with a 1 second timeout works much better but then the performance is terrible. The cloud provider claims to be able to accept a large number of POSTS per second for each connection but unfortunately I don't understand enough about networking to identify where the bottleneck is.

Is the HTTPsocket object somehow collapsing the POSTS? Is there a way to successfully make a rapid transmission of asynchronous POSTs? Or am I missing some fundamental understanding of the protocol?

Post subject: Re: Problem rapidly firing off asynchronous HTTPsocket POSTs
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:46 pm 
Real Software Engineer