Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Wed Nov 21, 2018 5:19 am
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: PHP or Ruby SSE Server side event with RS desktop client ?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 6:40 pm 

Hi.
I am making a chat server and an accompanying RS desktop chat client.
Since my web host cannot run an RS cgi app I need to make the chat server in a language that works on the server. PHP or Ruby would be acceptable.
I dont want the clients to have to constantly ping the server for new data checks.

HTML 5's SSE allows servers to push data to clients so the clients no longer have to constantly ping the server to check for new data.
I have never used SSE before but it sounds like it could work.

Can an RS made client work correctly by recievig incoming data from the server on port 80 (the web port) ?
Would that mess up the users browser browsing?

Besides an initial data send from the client I think the HTTP socket would need to listen for new incoming data from the server and send data back when it needs to.
Im not sure but I dont think there is much more to it than that.

I was thinking about having the client pretend to be a browser but I'm not sure what that requires and my first attempt failled.
Anything beyong setting the useragent info?

I thought about using a TCP socket to listen for the pushed data but I dont know if they can listen on port 80 without requiring the user tto give the app priveledges or something wierd.
I would like to use port 80 to not cause problems for the user or make them have to open up different ports which many may not be able to do.

Does anyone know about this?

Post subject: Re: PHP or Ruby SSE Server side event with RS desktop client
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:37 pm 

By don't use UDP and ENet plugin from Einhugur for that? It would run as a service and it's very easy to implement.