Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Sat Aug 17, 2019 5:56 am
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Tab panel question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:29 am
Posts: 387
Hi

I have one area using a tab control to flip between text box inputs....

But I have a larger area of a window where I have buttons that flip between panels... two panels are graphs... one is a grid of data... If I put that all on one window... is that too much to tab between? Will any limits or slow downs or bad gotchas doing that?

If not then I would add 2 more grids to flip between... making 2 graphs and 3 grids...

Just want to know if that is doable or if there are pitfalls...

Thanks

-T

_________________
Currently using:
Windows XP Pro SP3
Real Studio 2011 Release 4.3 Enterprise
and
Mac OS 10.7.4
Real Studio 2011 Release 4.3 Enterprise
(finally also compiled on Mac)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tab panel question
PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:48 am
Posts: 3554
Location: Lenexa, KS
Hard to visualize what you're saying but the answer is that you can put hundreds of controls on a window. However, I've found that working with that many gets ugly.

If you have the Pro version take a look at Container Controls as they encapsulate your controls into a nice reusable control. That way the logic is in the container but the window that hosts it doesn't need to know anything.

_________________
Bob K.

A blog about being a Real Studio/Xojo developer at http://www.bkeeneybriefs.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tab panel question
PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:29 am
Posts: 387
OK so let's say I put each of these items into their own container.... what is the best way to let the user select between which one to be looking at? i.e. flip between them???

_________________
Currently using:
Windows XP Pro SP3
Real Studio 2011 Release 4.3 Enterprise
and
Mac OS 10.7.4
Real Studio 2011 Release 4.3 Enterprise
(finally also compiled on Mac)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group