Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Sun Aug 19, 2018 4:56 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ActiveX controls and RB
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 2:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 2:11 pm
Posts: 8
I'm so glad you guys finally setup up forums!

I've been wondering for a while, can activex controls be used with RB? I'd assume that .net controls are not. I think there are probably some RB plugins that extend functionality, I'm just trying to get a sense of what the options are. The kind of control that I'd find useful would be like a charting component etc.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 2:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:39 am
Posts: 9341
Location: St Augusta, MN
Yes, you can add ActiveX components to your REALbasic project. But no, you cannot use .NET framework components. There are plenty of 3rd party plugins and classes that you can purchase (or download for free sometimes) as well.

If you're looking for something in specific, you should check out RBGarage.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 2:11 pm
Posts: 8
I'd have to assume that any ActiveX controls would be windows only...but some or all rb based components might be ok on both win and mac? Is there any other component format that is cross platform? Just trying to get the big picture as far as components go.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:39 am
Posts: 9341
Location: St Augusta, MN
Yes, ActiveX is Win32 only. 3rd party plugins and classes will be hit or miss, and only the original author can tell you for sure. A lot of times it depends on the functionality you're trying to get. For example, a plugin that does a Mac-specific UI widget may not do anything on Windows or Linux (unless there's a sensible alternative).

The only component formats are plugins (which are a cross-platform file format, so the same plugin will work on the Mac IDE just like it does on the Windows IDE -- but the functionality the plugin exposes may not be cross-platform), classes/modules/etc (which can be exported from one project and imported into another. They may also be encrypted if you'd like to sell them), and ActiveX on Windows.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 5:13 am
Posts: 603
Location: Shanghai, China
It seems that we only can use the COM+ components -- OCX files & some DLLs. But REALbasic doesn't support .Net components. :roll:

_________________
ToringoCrypto Plugin - RSA (128 to 1024), DES/3DES/TDEA, etc.
ToringoDRMInfo Plugin - Uniquely identify computers via hardware information.
【My Company: Are you looking for someone to help you work on your projects?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group