Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:25 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: What's wrong with my mask?
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 6:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:19 pm
Posts: 437
I am using a configuration file to store a mask to a field that is then used to set the mask for the textfield.

The mask is 9999-999 and when I store the mask to the textfield, it bombs the app every time. I've determined that it doesn't like the hyphen in the mask and yet the LR says that any literal character can be used in the mask.


Update:

If I store the mask 9999-999 as the property of the textfield it works fine, but if I do it like this:

textfield.mask = rs.field("MASK").stringvalue

it barfs every time.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong with my mask?
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 12:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 12:56 am
Posts: 702
PURE guess...
The hyphen may not be 'the' hyphen character. Pretty sure there are two.
So: what encoding does the stringvalue get you?

and does
textfield.mask = "9999-999" work using a literal?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong with my mask?
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 5:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:19 pm
Posts: 437
kermit wrote:
PURE guess...
The hyphen may not be 'the' hyphen character. Pretty sure there are two.
So: what encoding does the stringvalue get you?

and does
textfield.mask = "9999-999" work using a literal?


Yes, the mask works if I type it in as a property of the text field. I have not changed the text encoding from the default and I'm typing this into a field which is being saved in a "text" field and then storing that value to the mask property.

I see you're point, but I don't think that's the issue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong with my mask?
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 7:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 3:09 pm
Posts: 650
Location: Tennessee, USA
If it were me I would get two textfields, one filled in with the value from the database and the other with characters from the keyboard. I assume they will visually look the same in the window but now look at their hexadecimal values in the debugger and see if they are identical there. There has to be a difference of some sort I would think.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group