Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:52 am
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ComboBox doesn't work event Change
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 7:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:19 am
Posts: 7
Hi

When I select an item clicking on it with my mouse, the event "Change" works very well.
But if I select an item typing it with the "AutoComplete=True", nothing happens.

I'll try to explain.
I have 3 item in a combobox: John, Mary, Steve

In the event "Change" I have this code:

Msgbox "Hi"

Simple, isn't it?
Well. If I use my mouse to select an item, the messagebox shows up.
But, if I use just my keyboard, typing the item, nothing happens.

Am I doing anything wrong?
How can I solve this?

Please help.

Fernando.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ComboBox doesn't work event Change
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 8:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:10 pm
Posts: 1855
Location: Michigan, USA
The ComboBox is known for being fickle. Does it help if you use the TextChanged event as well?

Do you need the typing ability the ComboBox, or can you use a PopupMenu? If you can, I recommend using it instead.

Hope this helps! :)

_________________
Windows 8 x64
Windows XP Pro SP3
Ubuntu 11.04 via Virtual Box
RS Enterprise 2012r1.1

Programming Tutorials & Free Projects: http://www.JasonTheAdams.com
"Christianity has not been tried and found wanting; it has been found difficult and not tried." - G.K. Chesterton


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ComboBox doesn't work event Change
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 12:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 10:18 am
Posts: 33
Jason_Adams wrote:
Do you need the typing ability the ComboBox, or can you use a PopupMenu? If you can, I recommend using it instead.

In Cocoa, the Popup menu does not fire it's ChangeEvent when it's changed via code. Hopefully Xojo fixes that...

Kind regards
Christian

_________________
me.self works with:
Real Studio Pro (always the latest), 10.7.x, Mac mini i5, Love


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ComboBox doesn't work event Change
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 2:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:19 am
Posts: 7
Thank you all for your answers.

I'm doing an application (migration from another in Access) that basicaly works with the keyboard because it needs to be very fast introducing data from the user, and keyboard with minimal key typing is the best way.

I already have it in Access, and the combobox in Access is wonderfull. Multicolum, nowait to load when you asociate it to a query or a table, works perfect with many rows, ... The unique limitation that I've found is that it's display just 65535 rows, but below this it's perfect.
I use this control a lot, and I would like to have something similar.

I will try with popupMenu, but I'll have to forget about using this control with so many rows.
I also will try to play with the keydown event.

Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group