Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:42 am
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Question about objects and scope
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:57 am 

I'm very new to RB but I have done a fair amount of programming using NeXTSTEP, Xcode and Delphi.

I'm confused about where to put my classes, how to instaniate them and the scope.

For example, in Xcode I usually instantiate my objects in the ApplicationDidFinishLaunching method

In RB, I created module, added my object with a few methods but I'm doing something wrong because when I try to access the object from a button on a window:

textfield1.text =str( myObject.internalYield)

I get an error message

However, if I declare everything in the mousedown function:
dim myobject As new sst.sstPipe
dim myobject as sst.sstPipe
myobject=new sst.sstPipe

myobject.initdp(5.875,4.875,135000,1.0)

it works fine.

Thanks in advance,

Post subject: Re: Question about objects and scope
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:43 pm 

For global objects (one defined in a module and set to Global or Public), you can instantiate them in either

app.Open (before the window is created)
window.Open (after the window is created)

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:58 am 

Thanks.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:54 am 

bjv wrote:
For example, in Xcode I usually instantiate my objects in the ApplicationDidFinishLaunching method

The equivalent in RB would be to do it in App.Open. I rarely have any need for that, however... what sort of global objects are you instantiating?

bjv wrote:
In RB, I created module, added my object with a few methods but I'm doing something wrong because when I try to access the object from a button on a window:

I get an error message