Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 5:30 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Opening a Word Document in a RB Window
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:35 pm
Posts: 27
I want to open a Word Doc within a Real Studio window.

I know how to drag and drop a document into a window and I know how to save and open a Word doc to/from a database field.

I don't want to open Word with the document - I can do that. I want to contain the document in a window with controls to manipulate the document - again which I know how to do.

I am probably missing the obvious. Played with the olecontainer to no avail.

Help !

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Opening a Word Document in a RB Window
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 4:53 pm
Posts: 51
Monkeybread software had a kind of control for this, maybe it fits your needs.

Tom Prins


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Opening a Word Document in a RB Window
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:35 pm
Posts: 27
Thanks for your response.

Trying to figure out what MonkeyBread has or doesn't have is somewhat challenging given their website.

I ended up creating a windows dll and employed a third party VB 6 control. I'd rather not but ....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Opening a Word Document in a RB Window
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:49 pm
Posts: 504
Any other suggestions ((for Windows XP / Windows 7)?

Thanks.

lennox


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Opening a Word Document in a RB Window
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:35 pm
Posts: 27
Declare word as a property with a type of wordapplicatiton

Then use OLE.

and the following code:

#Pragma BreakOnExceptions Off
word = New WordApplication


word.documents.open(sDocument)
word.Visible = true


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Opening a Word Document in a RB Window
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:49 pm
Posts: 504
Must MSWord be installed for this?

Thanks.

Lennox


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Opening a Word Document in a RB Window
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:49 pm
Posts: 504
I would like to extract the text, as plain text, from a MSWord document on a computer that does not have MSWord installed (On Windows).

Thanks.

Lennox


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Opening a Word Document in a RB Window
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:35 pm
Posts: 27
If you can figure out how to use Wordpad to do this let me know.

Bob


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Opening a Word Document in a RB Window
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:49 pm
Posts: 504
on Mac

"textutil -convert rtf -stdout" + filepath does it

Lennox


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Opening a Word Document in a RB Window
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:35 pm
Posts: 27
Cool

But the PC ?

Bob


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Opening a Word Document in a RB Window
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:35 pm
Posts: 27
Take a look at:

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/word- ... 86993.aspx

See if you can access it using OLE

Bob


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Opening a Word Document in a RB Window
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:49 pm
Posts: 504
It appears that the file has to be opened then the text extracted and sent for "processing".

I would like a word document to be dropped on an imagewell and all the processing done in the background automatically with code, and the text appear in a textarea like it is done using Textutil in a shell.

Lennox


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group