Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:36 pm
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: TextArea Alignment
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 11:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:46 am
Posts: 4931
Location: San Diego, CA
I have a simple editor using a TextArea and styled text.

If I select a line, and set SELALIGNMENT to right or center.... it "disappears". well not really... it seems it is working with an area much wider than my TextArea....

How does one control where "Center" and "RIGHT" are in regards to Alignment?

FYI.. This doesn't work at ALL in current COCOA releases.... (assuming that XOJO has addressed this)

_________________
Dave Sisemore
iMac I7[2012], OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.3 RB2012r2.1
Note : I am not interested in any solutions that involve custom Plug-ins of any kind


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: TextArea Alignment
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 12:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:10 pm
Posts: 34
Is width of your textarea bigger than your main window?

_________________
OSX 10.8.3
ListBox Example Project OSX
TextEditor Example Project OSX
Homepage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: TextArea Alignment
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 12:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:46 am
Posts: 4931
Location: San Diego, CA
nope... textarea it like 1/4 the screen size

_________________
Dave Sisemore
iMac I7[2012], OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.3 RB2012r2.1
Note : I am not interested in any solutions that involve custom Plug-ins of any kind


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: TextArea Alignment
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 11:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:46 am
Posts: 4931
Location: San Diego, CA
Now I cannot even get the Textarea to respond at all.
The Keydown event IS getting keystrokes (I can post them to my log as I type)
but the Textarea never displays them (keydown is returning "false" as it should)

Switch back to CARBON..... and all is good.... Cocoa... not so much

_________________
Dave Sisemore
iMac I7[2012], OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.3 RB2012r2.1
Note : I am not interested in any solutions that involve custom Plug-ins of any kind


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: TextArea Alignment
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:33 pm
Posts: 1774
The textArea is completely broken in Cocoa builds as of 2012r2. I am waiting for xojo to fix this. If it doesn't, I will have to look at other alternatives than Xojo, Inc. (or whatever they want to be called)

_________________
Roger Clary
Class One Software
Educational Software for Lifelong Learning
http://www.classonesoftware.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: TextArea Alignment
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:43 pm
Posts: 427
classone wrote:
The textArea is completely broken in Cocoa builds as of 2012r2. I am waiting for xojo to fix this. If it doesn't, I will have to look at other alternatives than Xojo, Inc. (or whatever they want to be called)


The current Xojo beta has much better support for Cocoa. Including TextArea.

Funny part is that I made a lot of work-a-rounds in RB for a lot of Cocoa issues.
With Xojo I had to literally remove all those hacks which took me a while in some bigger projects. :-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: TextArea Alignment
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:33 pm
Posts: 1774
Thanks, atarikid. That's hopeful news.

_________________
Roger Clary
Class One Software
Educational Software for Lifelong Learning
http://www.classonesoftware.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: TextArea Alignment
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:46 am
Posts: 4931
Location: San Diego, CA
Yes it is hopeful news thanks...

This is my first 100% Cocoa app, and was thrilled that everything was working so smoothly (shoulda known), until I tripped over this. I have a hack in place that makes it work enough that I can continue with the project...l

And hopefully when XoJo comes out, it will fix that issue and all will be good with the world :)

_________________
Dave Sisemore
iMac I7[2012], OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.3 RB2012r2.1
Note : I am not interested in any solutions that involve custom Plug-ins of any kind


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group