Real Software Forums

The forum for Real Studio and other Real Software products.
[ REAL Software Website | Board Index ]
It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:10 am
xojo

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: RealBASIC Application EXE Error
PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 12:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 10:38 am
Posts: 15
Everytime I go to install RealBASIC for Windows I get error:

"The cabinet file 'disk1.cab' required for this installation is corrupt and cannot be used. This could indicate a network error, an error reading from the CD-ROM, or a problem with this package."

I tried reformatting my computer and nothing seems to help, I am using windows vista 64 bit with 8gb ram, Thanks for any help with this matter.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RealBASIC Application EXE Error
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 10:38 am
Posts: 15
So I take it no one else is having problems installing Realbasic 2009 Release 5.1 for Windows Vista 64 bit. This is strange why I am getting this installing error, am I the only one here with 64 bit lol.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RealBASIC Application EXE Error
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:39 am
Posts: 1718
I believe RB is 32-bit only, though it should run okay under WOW64. I'd suspect the problem is due to a corrupted installer. Try re-downloading the installer and see if you get different results.

_________________
Kenneth McCleary
ken@mccleary.me


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RealBASIC Application EXE Error
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 10:38 am
Posts: 15
Ok now I know that there is something wrong because I tried to install it on my windows xp computer as well and it gave me the same error, so I think it is realbasic installer, because I also talked to my tech support for the computer and they insured me it was not my computer, but realsoftware's installer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RealBASIC Application EXE Error
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:39 am
Posts: 1718
Did you try re-downloading the installer, or just copy the same one to the other machine? The reason I ask is because I just downloaded 5.1 just now and installed it on a Windows 7 32-bit machine without incident.

_________________
Kenneth McCleary
ken@mccleary.me


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RealBASIC Application EXE Error
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 2:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:51 pm
Posts: 420
Location: Cosalient EHR in Washington
I downloaded and installed RB 5.1 on a Windows 7 64 bit machine just about a week ago without incident.

_________________
RS 2012r1.1x OSX 10.8.x Win7 XP; MBP17 w OWC SSD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RealBASIC Application EXE Error
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 3:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 10:38 am
Posts: 15
Yes the file is a fresh copy of the installer right from the site and it still doesn't work, so this is going to get good but I'm not giving up until I figure this problem out I will reply back when I figure this problem out, thanks for the help guys.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RealBASIC Application EXE Error
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 10:38 am
Posts: 15
I figured it out, it was my router the whole time, as soon as I removed it and hooked the cable modem directly to my computer then the installer worked just fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group